Recognising community members

There are many members of the Campaspe community who give their own time to support others. There are also residents who excel in various fields. Council believes it’s important to recognise these people for their commitment so the entire community can be inspired by their passion.

Each year, that local recognition comes in the form of:

Campaspe Community Volunteer Awards

Volunteering is a great way to support the local community. To acknowledge and thank the many Campaspe residents who give their time to make our community an even better place to live, council holds the Campaspe Community Volunteer Awards every year.

Awards are presented in categories of:

  • Individual: an outstanding contribution and achievement in volunteerism by an individual
  • Young person: an outstanding contribution and achievement in volunteerism by a person under the age of 25
  • Organisation: an outstanding contribution and achievement in volunteerism by a not for profit organisation who support their volunteers.

Nominations for the 2019 awards are now closed.

Click here to access the award information and application form.


Australia Day Awards

Nominations for 2020 Australia Day awards are now closed. 

The 2020 Australia Day Awards reward and recognise individuals and organisations that have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, and/or give an outstanding service over a number of years, to a local community over and above normal employment duties.

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fundraising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and wellbeing of a community.

The recipient will be a resident of the Shire of Campaspe and one whose achievements in service for others has had a significant influence in the local community or has made an outstanding achievement in an appropriate field of endeavour. This could be in the origination of an idea, the organisation or completion of community projects.

Every year, Australia Day Award winners are selected from each of the shire’s five regions:

  • Echuca & district
  • Rochester & district
  • Tongala & district
  • Kyabram & district
  • Rushworth & district


  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award
  • Sportsperson/Team of the Year
  • Junior Sportsperson/Team of the Year
  • Community Event/Group of the Year Award
  • Arts Person/Group of the Year

To view all the details, click here to download the electronic nomination form.

Additionally, printed copies of the nomination form are available at council Customer Service Centres and can be downloaded by clicking here.